Wednesday, March 7, 2007

list of major changes in 11th

The following was recently posted to the UPA website (and you can download it from there:, but we thought we should post it here as well. This is a list of short summaries of the changes in the 11th edition that are most likely to affect how the game is played. Some of these have already been addressed in greater depth on this blog, and others we haven't gotten to yet.


The 11th edition- summary of most important changes
For those of you that just want the quick and dirty “highlights” of the the 11th edition, here are the changes that will most likely affect the way the game is played (please note that these are layman’s summaries only- for official language please consult the rules themselves):

Thrower/marker fouls are clarified. A distinction is made between contact with the marker’s arms/legs vs. torso. Basically, if there’s contact between the thrower and the marker’s arms/legs, it’s a foul on the marker unless their arms/legs were completely stationary. If there’s contact between the thrower and the marker’s torso, it’s a foul on whoever initiated the contact (unless the marker is also violating a marking rule, like disc space). However, if this contact occurs as a result of the thrower and marker both vying for the same unoccupied position, and therefore it’s unclear who “initiated” the contact, it’s a foul on the marker. [11th Ref: XVI.H.3.a)]

Disc space” is now a marking violation (see below). The new definition of disc space now includes provisions against wrapping one’s arms around the thrower and straddling the pivot foot. This is done by defining disc space as the space between the thrower and “any line segment between two points on the marker’s body”. What this means is that if an imaginary line is drawn that connects the fingertips of a marker’s two hands (for example), that line cannot touch any point on the thrower’s body, and has to be one disc’s diameter away from the thrower’s torso and pivot. In addition, the fact that this is now a call has the added benefit that if the thrower is being fouled on the mark, he or she can choose to call the disc space violation instead of calling a foul (see below for why this is a benefit). [11th Ref: XIV.B.3.]

Marking violations (disc space, fast count, double team, and vision blocking) can now be called an unlimited number of times during a stall count, without stopping play. Just like in the 10th edition, when these violations are called the marker has to drop their count by one. Furthermore, if a marking violation is called, the marker is not allowed to resume their count until he or she rectifies the violation. [11th Ref: XIV.B.]

When a pick is called, all players return to where they were when the call was made (or when the throw went up, if the disc was thrown). After that, the picked defender then moves to regain the relative position lost due to the pick. Furthermore, if a picked defender did not have a play on the disc, the disc stays with the receiver. In addition, it is no longer relevant whether the pick occured before or after the throw- only whether it affected or did not affect the play. [11th Refs: XVI.C.4.; XVI.I.3.; XVI.C.2.b)(2)]

A disc is generally checked in at the site of the infraction. What this means is that if there’s an uncontested receiving foul in the endzone, the disc is checked in at the spot of the foul, after which everyone is free to move and the receiver can carry the disc to the endzone line and put it in play. [11th Refs: XVI.H.3.b)(2); X.C.]

Penalties for offsides and time violations can now be instituted in Observed games. These are the same penalties that have been in effect for the College Series (under the “Supplemental Enforcement Provisions/X-Rules/Callahan Rules”). [11th Refs: VIII.B.4.e); VIII.C.4.]

The requirement of acknowledging a goal has been removed. In addition, if a player catches a pass in the endzone in which they’re trying to score, but doesn’t realize it and throws an incomplete pass, any player with best perspective can overrule the turnover and award the goal. However, if opposing players who both have best perspective can’t agree on the call, the turnover stands. [11th Refs: XI.A.; XI.C.]

In the endzone, an uncontested foul on a receiver after a catch has been made that results in a loss of possession is a goal (this covers a strip, but is extended to all fouls that occur after possession is gained). [11th Ref: XI.A.2.]

Uncontested offensive violations other than picks (for example, travels) are now treated like uncontested offensive fouls, such that the stall count does not revert to 6 if it was over 6, but comes in at the last number uttered plus one (but never higher than 9). [11th Ref: XIV.A.5.a)(2)]

The requirement for a one-second pause between the word “stalling” and the first number of the stall count has been removed. In addition, the stall count can never come in higher than “stalling nine”. [11th Refs: XIV.A.1.a); XIV.A.5.]

A contested stall now comes back in at 8 instead of 9 (due to the removal of the requirement for the pause; see above). Furthermore, if a stall is contested more than once in the same possession, and if second and subsequent contests are a result of a fast count, the stall count reverts to 6 instead of 8. [11th Refs: XIV.A.5.b)(3)]

Double team has been clarified: A defender is allowed within 3 meters of a thrower only if they are also within 3 meters of another offensive player and are guarding that other offensive player. [11th Ref: XIV.B.2.]

Additional perimeter restraining lines are recommended for spectators, gear, coaches and competitors. Any obstructed player or thrower can stop play if sideline players encroach into these areas obstructing their throw. [11th Refs: III.F.; III.G.]


Anonymous said...

the "disc space" paragraph has two instances where the word "marker" is used in error. it should say "thrower" in the sentence describing what the marker's imaginary line cannot contact.

peri said...

thanks- we fixed it.

parinella said...

Having played a tournament with the new pick rule, I have to say that it seems like a bad change to me. While I would agree with a change that said there was no difference whether a pick occurred just before or just after the throw, it makes no sense to me that if the pick is well before the throw, the disc should stay where it is.

Or is this covered by the "affected the play" clause? If a pick happens, people stop cutting or defending, thus affecting the ongoing play.

However it's written, there was much confusion this weekend, and two people went out of their way to ask me what the rule was. (I told them that I am trying to forget the rules.)

peri said...

So just to clarify, the "new pick rule" being referred to is actually a change in the continuation rule (and applies to all infractions).
The particular rule says that if a violation is called by a non-thrower, and the outcome of the play is such that the "infracting" team gains/retains possession (for example a completion after a pick call), if the infraction didn't affect the play (e.g. it wasn't the picked player's opponent that got the disc), the disc stays where it is, REGARDLESS of whether the call was made before or after the throw.

However, the fact that players should not stop playing when they hear a call, but should keep playing until either the call is acknowledged by the thrower or the outcome of the (first) pass is determined, is NOT new. The only difference is that due to the change in the continuation rule, the repercussions for not knowing the "keep playing" part of the continuation rule are greater. Hopefully this will actually encourage people to learn the old rule!

Anonymous said...

"A disc is generally checked in at the site of the infraction. What this means is that if there’s an uncontested receiving foul in the endzone, the disc is checked in at the spot of the foul, after which everyone is free to move and the receiver can carry the disc to the endzone line and put it in play."

Can the stall count be started while the receiver is carrying the disc to the endzone line?

Robert Miller said...

ok so i been playing lately and there have been calls about points so how i heard it it was two feet have to be in for point but anything in mid field is one foot so i need to know what the correct ruling on that is

Mortakai said...

Robert... better to post that question to the 11th Edition Rules google-group, or to the USAU Forums, but I'll answer here nevertheless...

It doesn't matter whether it's one foot of two feet, or one elbow, or elbow, head, knee and foot. What DOES matter is that ALL points of contact at the instant of first contact after the catch are ALL in bounds.

If you land first with just your toe, it needs to be IB, and nothing after that counts. If you land first with just the whole foot, down flat at the same instant, then the whole foot needs to be IB. If you land on the ball of your foot, and then follow with putting the heel down an instant later, then just the ball needs to be IB. If you land with two feet at the same instant, then both feet need to be IB. If you land with two feet, one after the other, the first needs to be fully IB, and we don't care about the second.

... and my use of "IB" (in bounds) applies equally and interchangeably to "in the end zone".

11th Refs:

re End Zone: XI.A.1. "To be considered in the end zone after gaining possession of the disc in accordance with II.O.2 and XV.E, the player’s first point of ground contact must be completely in the end zone."

The rules aren't worded as clearly with respect to in bounds (rather than in the end zone), but it's treated exactly the same way. The following rules suggest this.

re In Bounds: IX.C.1. "If momentum carries a player out-of-bounds after landing in-bounds with possession of an in-bounds disc, the player is considered in-bounds. For this exception to apply, that player’s first point of ground contact with any area must be completely in-bounds. [...]."

re both IB and EZ: XV.E. "[...] or whether a player’s first point of ground contact after catching the disc was in- or out-ofbounds or in or out of the end zone [...]."

... Play on.